HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
The Listening Room: Snoop Dogg, Jeff Beck, Steven Tyler, "Ghostbusters" and more..

Digital First Media, @GraffonMusic

Posted: Thursday, July 14, 2016

» See more SOUND CHECK

This week's new and noteworthy music releases...

Jeff Beck, "Loud Hailer" (Atco): The guitar legend finds a set of new collaborators on this fiercely played set of politically pointed songs.

Confederate Railroad, "Lucky To Be Alive" (BFD): The Southern rock/country group`s first new album in nine years celebrate's the 20th anniversary of its hit "Trashy Women" with a new version feature Willie Nelson, John Anderson, Colt Ford and former NFL coach Jerry Glanville.

David Nail, "Fighter" (MCA Nashville): The country singer populates his fourth album with a guest list that includes Vince Gill, the Brothers Osborne, Lori McKenna, members of needtobreathe and Logan Brill.

needtobreathe, "Hardlove" (Atlantic): The Christian rock troupe's sixth album includes a collaboration with fellow South Carolinians Shovels & Rope on the track "Great Night."

Aaron Neville, "Apache" (Tell It): The New Orleans stalwart wrote the bulk of the lyrics on his latest album, which takes its title from one of his childhood nicknames.

Snoop Dogg, "Coolaid" (Doggystyle/eOne): The veteran rapper's 14th solo studio album features collaborations with Detroit's Trick Trick as well as Wiz Khalifa, Swizz Beatz, Too $hort and more.

Steven Tyler, "We're All Somebody From Somewhere" (Dot): The Aerosmith frontman's first-ever solo album is a country-flavored set recorded in Nashville and includes a remake of the band's hit "Janie's Got a Gun."

Various Artists, "Ghostbusters (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)" (RCA): An all-star assemblage including Zayn, Pentatonix, Fall Out Boy and Missy Elliott, 5 Seconds of Summer and more churn out to the tunes for this film companion. Walk The Moon updates Ray Parker Jr.'s hit title track, which is also included.

Also Out: Steve Cole, "Turn It Up" (Artistry); Jacob Collier, "In My Room" (Membran); Dirty Heads, "Dirty Heads" (Five Seven Music); The Earls of Leicester, "Rattle & Roar" (Rounder); Marquis HIll, "The Way We Play" (Concord Jazz); James Allen spirit, "James Allen Spirit" (self-released); Kidz Bop Kids, "Kidz Bop 32" (Kidz Bop); Michael Kiwanuka, "Love and Hate" (Interscope); Levin Minnemann Rudess, "From The Law Offices Of..." (Lazy Bones); Marley's Ghost, "The Woodstock Sessions" (Virtual)

From the Vaults: Maynard Ferguson, "Complete High Voltage" (Omnivore); Little Richard, "The Mono Box: The Complete Specialty and Vee-Jay Albums" (Speciality/Concord); Frank Zappa, "The Crux of the Biscuit" and "For President" (Zappa);

Soundtracks: Theodore Shapiro, "Ghostbusters: Original Motion Picture Score" (Sony Classics); "Tuck Everlasting (Original Broadway Cast Recording)" (DMI); "The Music of DC Comics, Vol. 2" (WaterTower)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration