HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
The Listening Room: Elvis Presley, Cadillac Three, Nick Fradiani, O.A.R. and more...

Digital First Media, @GraffonMusic

Posted: Friday, August 5, 2016

» See more SOUND CHECK

This week's noteworthy new music releases include...

Blackfoot, "Southern Native" (Loud & Proud): The Southern rock group's first new album in 26 years features a new lineup and material curated by founder Rickey Medlocke.

The Cadillac Three, "Bury Me In My Boots" (Big Machine): The sophomore album by this Nashville trio that's one of the most exciting country bands around.

The Dead Daisies, "Make Some Noise" (SPV): The all-star hard rock group's third album features an assortment of new members, most notably Dio/Whitesnake veteran Doug Aldrich on guitar.

Dinosaur Jr., "Give A Glimpse Of What Yer Not" (Jagjaguwar): The veteran alt.rock heroes' latest, and first in four years, was recorded in the group's home base of Amherst, Mass.

Nick Fradiani, "Hurricane" (19/Big Machine): The debut solo album from the penultimate "American Idol" champ features collaborations with Jason Mraz, Dashboard Confessional's Chris Carrabba and matchbox twenty`s Paul Doucette, among others.

Gov't Mule, "The Tel-Star Sessions" (Evil Teen): Guitarist Warren Haynes' hard-rocking troupe digs into its archives for this set of unreleased material from 1994 sessions in Florida, including a cover of ZZ Top's "Just Got Paid."

O.A.R., "XX" (Vanguard): The well-loved rock quintet celebrates its 20th anniversary with this compendium of favorites, live tracks and a selection of brand new material.

Elvis Presley, "Way Down In The Jungle Room" (RCA/Legacy): This two-CD set collects The King's final studio recordings, done during February and October 1976 in his home studio at Graceland in Memphis.

Also Out: American Young, "American Young" (Curb); Carniflex, "Slow Death" (Nuclear Blast); Jekalyn Carr, "The Life Project" (eOne); Joanna Connor, "Six String Stories" (M.C.); Jackyl, "ROWYCO" (Mighty Loud); Jeremy & the Harlequins, "Into The Night" (Yep Roc); Cody Johnson, "Gotta Be Me" (self-released); Chris Lane, "Girl Problems" (Big Loud); Andrew Leahey & the Homestead, "Skyline In Central Time" (Thirty Tigers); Keiko Matsui, "Journey To The Heart" (Shanachie); Prasanna, "All Terrain Guitar" (Susila); Chelle Rose, "Blue Ridge Blood" (Lil' Damsel); Russian Circles, "Guidance" (Sargent House); Skillet, "Unleashed" (Atlantic); Tarja, "Shadow Self" (Earmusic); Jonah Tolchin, "Thousand Mile Night" (Yep Roc); 35th and Taylor, "I Know You're Trouble" (self-released); Various Artists, "NOW Party Anthems, Vol. 3" (Now); Various Artists, "NOW That's What I CallMusic, Vol. 59" (Now)

Soundtracks: "Bad Moms" (Masterworks); "Jesse Stone -- The Ultimate Collection" (Varese Sarabande); "Castlevania" (Mondo); "Suicide Squad: The Album" (Atlantic); "Suicide Squad -- The Original Motion Picture Score" (WaterTower)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration