HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
The Listening Room: Dolly Parton, Keifer Sutherland, Sharon Jones, Watsky and more...

Digital First Media, @GraffonMusic

Posted: Thursday, August 18, 2016

» See more SOUND CHECK

This week's new and notable releases include...

* Bayside, "Vacancy" (Hopeless): The breakdown of frontman Anthony Raneri's marriage provided the impetus for songs on the New York punk rock troupe's seventh album.

* Amos Lee, "Spirit" (John Varvatos/Republic): The Philadelphia singer-songwriter moves to a new label after five critically acclaimed albums with Blue Note.

* The Minus 5, "Of Monkees And Men" (Yep Roc): Scott McCaughey and his all-star assembly of musical friends pay tribute to the titular Monkees with new songs written for and about the group rather than covers of its material.

* Dolly Parton, "Pure & Simple" (Dolly Records/Sony Music Nashville): The title just about says it all for this set of 10 new songs from the American music icon's own pen.

* Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings, "Miss Sharon Jones! Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" (Dap-Tone): Plenty of live performances -- the best way to hear Jones and company -- are included on this companion to the inspiring documentary about soul singer's battle with cancer.

* Keifer Sutherland, "Down In A Hole" (Warner Music Nashville): After a brief tenure running his own record label the actor steps out as an artist on this country- and Americana-flavored set.

* Watsky, "X Infinity" (Steel Wool): The San Francisco rapper, poet and actor's fifth album was co-executive produced by hip-hop founding father Russell Simmons.

* Drake White, "Spark" (Dot): The country singer's debut album comes after a pair of Top 40 singles, "It Feels Good" and "Livin' The Dream."

Also Out: BJ Barham, "Rockingham" (self-released); Al Basile, "Mid-Century Modern" (Sweetspot); Owen Campbell, "Breathing Bullets" (ROC); Carol Dubac, "Open The Curtains" (Gold Note); Flaw, "Divided We Fall" (Pavement); Gemini Syndrome, "Memento Mori" (Another Century); Lisa Hannigan, "At Swim" (ATO); Hunger, "For Love" (self-released); Daniel Lioneye, "Vol. III" (The End); Lydia Loveless, "Real" (Bloodshot); Sabaton, "The Last Stand" (Nuclear Blast); Skeletonwitch, "The Apothic Gloom" (Prosthetic); Ashleigh Smith, "Sunkissed" (Concord); Soilwork, "Death Resonance" (Nuclear Blast); Lindsey Stirling, "Brave Enough" (Lindseystomp); Trapt, "DNA" (Crash Collide); Allison Adams Tucker, "WANDERlust" (Origin); Ryley Walker, "Golden Sings That Have Been Sung" (Dead Oceans); Dale Watson, "Live At The Big T Roadhouse -- Chicken S#!+ Bingo Sunday" (Red House); John Paul White, "Beulah" (Single Lock)

From The Vaults: Jerry Garcia Band, "GarciaLive Volume Seven: November 8th 1976" (Round/ATO); New Barbarians, "Wanted Dead Or Alive" (MRI); The Turtles, All the Singles (Manifesto) and "The Complete Original Album Collection" (Manifesto)

Soundtracks: "Hell Or High Water" (Milan)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration