HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
The Listening Room: Big Sean, Reba McEntire, CeCe Winans, Wyclef Jean, more...

Digital First Media, @GraffonMusic

Posted: Thursday, February 2, 2017

» See more SOUND CHECK

This weeks new and noteworthy new music releases include...

Big Sean, "I Decided" (G.O.O.D. Music/Def Jam): The Detroit rapper's fourth studio album sports guest appearances by Eminem, The-Dream, Migos, his own Twenty88 and more.

Less Than Jake, "Sound The Alarm" (Pure Noise): The Florida ska troupe delivers a new EP, its first new release in four years.

Reba McEntire, "Sing It Now: Songs Of Faith And Hope" (Nash Icon/Capitol Christian): The country music and TV icon taps into her spiritual roots on this two-disc set.

LeAnn Rimes, "Remnants" (Thirty Tigers): The once prodigal singer's latest album gets a domestic release after rolling out in Europe three months ago.

CeCe Winans, "Let Them Fall In Love" (Pure Springs Gospel): The Detroit-born gospel star returns with a her first new music in nine years, joined by the Clark Sisters and Hezekiah Walker's Love Fellowship Choir.

Wyclef Jean, "J'Ouvert" (Urban/eOne): The genre-hopping auteur's first new music since 2010 is a 10-track set featuring collaborations with Young Thug, Walk The Moon and others.

Also Out: Big Wreck, "Grace Street" (Rounder); Black Star Riders, "Heavy Fire" (Nuclear Blast America); Cigarettes After Sex, "I" (Spanish Prayer); Catie Curtis, "While We`re Here" (Magenta); Elbow, "Little Fictions" (Concord); Emily Estefan, "Take Whatever You Want" (Alien Shrimp); Fresh Air, "Homeshake" (Captured Tracks); Beth Hart, "Fire On The Floor" (Nash Icon); Dave Hause, "Bury Me In Philly" (Rise); Horisont, "About Time" (Century Media); Iron Reagan, "Crossover Ministry" (Relapse); Jim Jidhed, "Push On Through" (AOR Heaven); Kari Jobe, "The Garden" (Sparrow); Travis Linville, "Up Ahead" (self-released); David Luning, "Restless" (Blue Rose); The Maxx Band, "Funk Box" (self-released); The Menzingers, "After The Party" (Epitaph); Gurf Morlix, "The Soul & The Heal" (self-released); Muna, "About You" (RCA); Sophie Reyes, "Louder!" (Warner Music Latina); Sampha, "Process" (Young Turks); Soen, "Lykaia" (UDR); SpiRitual, "Awakening" (VP); The Soul Of John Black, "Early In the Moanin'" (Cadabra); Surfer Blood, "Snowdonia" (Joyful Noise); Ralph Towner, "My Foolish Heart" (ECM); Wilson Fairchild, "Songs Our Dad Wrote" (BFD)

From The Vaults: Black Sabbath, "The Ultimate Collection" (Rhino); Delaney & Bonnie and Friends, "Motel Shot (Expanded Edition" (Real Gone); Lesley Gore, "Love Me By Name: The Complete A&M Recordings" (Expanded Edition)" (UMe); Grateful Dead, "Dick's Picks Vol. 33: Oakland Coliseum Stadium 1976" (Deadnet); Haken, "Aquarius 2017" (Inside Out); Judas Priest, "Turbo (30th Anniversary Edition)" (Columbia/Legacy); L.A. Guns, "A Fistful Of Guns: Anthology 1985-2012" (Deadline)

Soundtracks: "Battlefield 1," Michael Gracchino (EA TM); "The Fish That Saved Pittsburgh: Expanded Edition," Various Artists (Real Gone); "Lego Batman Movie," Mark Mothersbaugh (Watertower); "Westworld, Season 1," Ramin Djawdi (WaterTower)

New Music Videos: Mumford & Sons, "Live From South Africa: Dust and Thunder" (Glassnote/Eagle Rock)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration