HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
The Listening Room: Def Leppard, "Fifty Shades Darker," Simon Kirke and more...

Digital First Media, @GraffonMusic

Posted: Saturday, February 11, 2017

» See more SOUND CHECK

This week's new and noteworthy music releases include...

Def Leppard, "And There Will Be A Next Time...Live From Detroit" (Eagle Rock): A CD and video set filmed and recorded during the group's stop last summer at the DTE Energy Music Theatre.

"Fifty Shades Darker," Various Artists (Republic): Tracks by John Legend, The-Dream, Jose James and Taylor Swift/Zayn Malik and Nick Jonas/Nicki Minaj collaborations steam up the soundtrack for the second film in the sexy series.

The Godfathers, "A Big Bad Beautiful Noise" (Metropolis): The formidable British rock quintet is back with a hot new set that lives up to its title on every track.

Simon Kirke, "All Because Of You" (The End): The Bad Company drummer's solo album includes a guest appearance from Warren Haynes and a ukulele version of BadCo's 1975 classic "Feel LIke Making Love."

Thievery Corporation, "The Temple Of I & I" (ESL): The world music duo ventures into Jamaiccan dub on its latest release, fortified by Kingston newcomer Racquel Jones on vocals.

Tinariwen, "Elwan" (Anti-/Epitaph): The venerable North African troupe enlisted guest vocalists such as Screaming Trees' Mark Lanegan, Alain Johannes, Matt Sweeney and Kirt Vile to help out on its latest project, which was partly recorded in California's Joshua Tree desert.

Also Out: Elvin Bishop, "Elvin Bishop's Big Fun Trio" (Alligator); Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears, "Backlash" (self-released); Michael Bolton, "Songs Of Cinema" (Frontiers); Cres Cru, "Catastrophic Event Specialists" (Strange Music); Dangerkids, "blacklist_" (Paid Vacation); doubleVee, "The Moonlit Fables Of Jack The Rider" (CEN/RED); Duchess, "Laughing At Life" (Anzic); Alejandro Fernandez, "Rompiendo Fronteras" (Universal Music Latino); Lupe Fiasco, "DROGAS Light" (1st and 15th); Rhiannon Giddens, "Factory Girl" (Nonesuch); Tina Guo, "Game On!" (Sony Masterworks); The High Kings, "Grace & Glory" (ARD/RI); Jessica Hoop, "Memories Are Now" (Sub Pop); Meatbodies, "Alice" (In The Red); Overkill, "The Grinding Wheel" (Nuclear Blast America); Nathan Pacheco, "Higher" (Shadow Mountain); Chuck Prophet, "Bobby Fuller Died For Our Sins" (Yep Roc); The Sadies, "Northern Passages" (Yep Roc); John Serrie, "The Sentinel" (New World); Sinkane, "Life & Livin' It" (City Slang); Craig Taborn, "Daylight Ghosts" (ECM); Brett Young, "Brett Young" (BMX); Miguel Zenon, "Tipico" (self-released)

From The Vaults: Bon Jovi, "Vinyl Box Set" (Island); Leonard Cohen, "Memories" (import); Jefferson Airplane, "Nothing In Particular: The Lost 1968 Dutch Broadcast" (All Access); Kris Kristofferson, "The Austin Sessions (Expanded Edition)" (Atlantic Catalog Group); Gerry Mulligan, "The Pacific Jazz Collection 1952-1959" (Enlightenment); Ozark Mountain Daredevils, Ozark Mountain Daredevils (reissue) (Import); Raff, "Best Of Raffi" (Rounder); Rush, "Live On Air 1975-80: The Legendary Radio Broadcasts" (Laser Media) and "Passaic 1976" (Zip City); Jimmy Smith, "When Wine Was Cheap: The Steamy Bowl Tapes `91-99" (High Plains Films)

Soundtracks: "Moonlight," Nicholas Britell (Lakeshore); "Planet Earth II," Hans Zimmer, others (Silva Screen)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration