HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
The Listening Room: LCD Soundsystem, Dixie Chicks, ICP, Joan Osborne

By Gary Graff
ggraff@digitalfirstmedia.com, @GraffonMusic on Twi

Posted: Thursday, August 31, 2017

» See more SOUND CHECK

Album of the Week: LCD Soundsystem, “American Dream” (Columbia); James Murphy’s re-formed Brooklyn dance-rock troupe sounds fresh and revitalized on its first set of new material in seven years.

Album Title of the Week: Epica, “The Solace System” (Nuclear Blast);

New & Noteworthy: Dalek, “Endangered Philosophies” (Ipecac); Dixie Chicks, “DCX MMXVI” (Columbia); Insane Clown Posse, “The Great Milenko: 20th Anniversary Edition” (Island); Motörhead, “Under Cöver” (Motorhead Music); Joan Osborne, “Songs Of Bob Dylan” (Womanly Hips); Sheila E., “Iconic Message For America” (Stilleto Flats); Starsailor, “All This LIfe” (Cooking Vinyl); Steve Winwood, “Winwood: Greatest Hits Live” (Wincraft);

Also Out: Anubis Gate, “Covered In Black” (Nightmare); John Beasley, “Monk’estra Vol. 2” (Mack Avenue); Bicep, “Bicep” (Ninja Time); Flaw, “United We Stand” (Pavement); The Grascals, “Before Breakfast” (Mountain Home); David Grisman and Tony Rice, “Dawg And ‘T’” (Acoustic Disc); The Haunted, “Strength In Numbers” (Century Media); Boney James, “Honestly” (Concord); The JT Project, “Another Chance” (Trippin’ & Rhythm); Korpiklaani, “Live At Masters Of Rock” (Nuclear Blast); Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark, “The Punishment Of Luxury” (White Noise); Paradise Lost, “Medusa” (Nuclear Blast); Rehab, “Million Dollar Mug Shot” (Average Joe’s); The Script, “Freedom Child” (Columbia); Septicflesh, “Codex Omega” (Prosthetic); David Stryker, “Strykin’ Ahead” (Strikezone);

From The Vaults: Jan & Dean, “Filet of Soul Redux: The Rejected Master Recordings” (Omnivore); Monster Magnet, “Spine Of Gold” (Napalm); Dolly Parton, “Real Live With Porter Wagoner” (High Cotton); Pete Townshend, “Scoop,” “Another Scoop,” and “Scoop 3” (UMe); The Verve, “Urban Hymns (Deluxe Edition)” (Virgin);

Soundtracks: Aesop Rock, “Bushwick” (Lakeshore); Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, “Wind River” (Lakeshore);

New Music Videos: Various Artists, “Change BEgins Within: A Benefit Concert For The David Lynch Foundation” (Eagle Rock)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration