HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
The Listening Room: Jimi Hendrix, David Byrne, Judas Priest, Nathaniel Rateliff and more...

By Gary Graff
ggraff@digitalfirstmedia.com, @GraffonMusic on Twi

Posted: Friday, March 9, 2018

» See more SOUND CHECK

Checking out this week’s hot new music releases...

• Album Of The Week: Few vaults have been as prodigious as the late Jimi Hendrix’s, and “Both Sides of the Sky” (Experience Hendrix/Legacy) -- completing a trilogy that includes 2010’s “Valley Of Neptune” and 2013’s “People, Hell And Angels” adds to the story with 13 unreleased tracks recorded between 1968-70 and guest appearances by Stephen Stills and Johnny Winter.

• Album Title Of The Week: Nick Moss Band, “The High Cost Of Low Loving” (Alligator);

• New & Noteworthy: David Byrne, “American Utopia” (Nonesuch); Albert Hammond Jr., “Francis Trouble” (Red Bull); Judas Priest, Firepower” (Sony Legacy); Myles Kennedy, “Year of the Tiger” (Napalm); Ministry, “AmeriKKKant” (Nuclear Blast); Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats, “Tearing At The Seams” (Stax);

• Also Out: Between The Buried And Me, “Automata 1” (Sumerian); Anat Cohen and Fred Hersch, “Live in Healdsburg” (Anzic); Destruction, “Release From Agony” (High Roller); Editors, “Violence” (Pias America); Erasure, “World Beyond” (Mute); Guided By Voices, “Live: Ogre’s Trumpet” (self-released); Snatam Kaur, “Beloved” (Spirit Voyage); Jonathan McReynolds, “Make Room” (Urban Inspirational/eOne); Brad Mehldau, “After Bach” (Nonesuch); Moose Blood, “I Don’t Think I Can Do This Anymore” (Hopeless); Mud Morganfield, “They Call Me Mud” (Severn); The Neighbourhood, “The Neighbourhood” (Columbia); Of Montreal, “White Is Relic/irrealis Mood” (Polyvinyl); Roots Of Creation, “Grateful Dub” (ILS); Calum Scott, “Only Human” (Capitol); Suicidal Tendencies, “Get Your Fight On!” (Suicidal); Dulcie Taylor, “Better Part Of Me” (Black Iris); Therion, “Beloved Antichrist” (Nuclear Blast); Three Days Grace, “Outsider” (RCA); Thundermother, “Thundermother” (Despotz); Bobby V., “Electrik” (ILS); Victor Wainwright and the Train, “Victor Wainwright and the Train” (Ruf); Young Fathers, “Cocoa Sugar” (Ninja Tune)

• From The Vaults: Eva Cassidy, “Songbird 20” (Blix Street); Digable Planets, “Reachin’...: 25th Anniversary Edition” (Modern Classics); Marillion, “Brave: Deluxe Edition” (Parlophone/Rhino); Nightwish, “Decades” (Nuclear Blast); Uncle Walt’s Band, “Anthology: Texas Boys From Carolina, They Sure Enough Could Sing...” (Omnivore)

• Jonny Greenwood, “You Were Never Really Here” (Invada/Lakeshore)

• New Music Video: Iggy Pop and Josh Homme, American Valhalla: The Story of Post Pop Depression” (Eagle Rock)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration