HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
Listening Room: Dennis Coffey, Dave Matthews Band, Dierks Bentley, Sugarland andmore...

By Gary Graff
ggraff@digitalfirstmedia.com, @GraffonMusic on Twi

Posted: Friday, June 8, 2018

» See more SOUND CHECK

Checking out this week’s new music releases...

• Album of the Week: Motown Funk Brother Dennis Coffey pulls another killer live recording out of his faults with “One Night At Morey’s 1968” (Omnivore), capturing Coffey in all of his funky, fusiony glory.

• Album Title of the Week: Gruff Rhys, “Babelsberg” (Rough Trade);

• New & Noteworthy: Dierks Bentley, “The Mountain” (Capitol Nashville); Eric Clapton, “Life in 12 Bars (Soundtrack)” (UMe); Dave Matthews Band, “Come Tomorrow” (RCA); Michael Franks, “The Music In My Head” (Shanachie); Ne-Yo, “Good Man” (Motown); Sugarland, “Bigger” (Big Machine/UMG Nashville); Tremonti, “A Dying Machine” (Napalm); Various Artists. “2018 Tony Awards Season” (Broadway)

• Also Out: Mike Aiken, “Wayward Troubadour” (Northwind); Lily Allen, “No Shame” (Warner Bros.) Betty Buckley, “Hope” (Palmetto); Dance Gavin Dance, “Artificial Selection” (Rise); Jesse Drayton, “The Outsider” (Blue Elan); Exmortus, “The Sound Of Steel” (Prosthetic); Family and Friends, “Felix Culpa” (self-released); Sullivan Fortner, “Moments Preserved” (Impulse); The Get Up Kids, “Kicker” (Polyvinyl); Jon Hassell, “Listening To Pictures” (Nideya); Howlin’ Rain, “The Alligator Bride” (Silver Current); Lykke Li, “so sad, so sexy” (RCA); Michael Kington, “Silver Lining” (Copenhagen Music); Alice Merton, “No Roots” (Mom & Pop); Coco O’Connor, “This Ol’ War” (Satarah); Pig, “Risen” (Metropolis); serptentwithfeet, “soil” (Secretly Canadian); Shannon Shaw, “Shannon In Nashville” (Nonesuch); Silvia, “Second Bloom: The Hits Re-Imagined” (self-released); Jorja Smith, “Lost And Found” (FAMM); Snail Mail, “Lush” (Matador); Sunstorm, “The Road to Hell” (Frontiers); T.N.T., “XIII” (Frontiers); Eleanor Tomlinson, “Tales From Home” (Sony Masterworks); Trillium, “Tectonic” (Frontiers); Various Artists, “Now That’s What I Call Country, Vol. 11” (NOW); Hilary Woods, “Colt” (Sacred Bones); YOB, “Our Raw Heart” (Relapse)

• From The Vaults: Beach Boys, “With the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra” (Capitol); Black Sabbath, “Supersonic Years: The Seventies Singles Box Set” (Rhino/Warner Bros.); The Flower Kings, “Kingdom Of Colours II (2004-2013)” (Inside Out); Johnny Mathis, “You’ve Got A Friend: Expanded Edition,” “Close To You/Love Story: Expanded Edition); (Real Gone); Megadeth, “Killing Is My Business -- and Business Is Good!: The Final Kill” (Century Media); Tom Waits, “Small Change (Remastered)” (Anti-/Epitaph)

• Soundtracks: Various artists, “Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story -- The Soundtrack” (UMe); “Frozen: The Broadway Musical” (Walt Disney); “Mean Girls: Original Broadway Cast Recording” (Atlantic); “My Fair Lady: 2018 Broadway Cast Recording” (Broadway);

• New Music Videos: “Eric Clapton, Life in 12 Bars” (Eagle Rock)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration