HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
Listening Room: Guns N' Roses, Drake, Gorillaz, Florence & the Machine and more...

By Gary Graff
ggraff@digitalfirstmedia.com, @GraffonMusic on Twi

Posted: Friday, June 29, 2018

» See more SOUND CHECK

Checking out this week’s new music releases…

• Album of the Week: Guns N’ Roses 1987 debut album “Appetite For Destruction” (Geffen/UMe) lives again in a batch of reissue configurations, from a remastered single CD to a Super Deluxe edition loaded with everything you’d want this side of Axl Rose’s kilt.

• Album Title of the Week: The Milk Carton Kids, “All The Things That I Did And All The Things That I Didn’t Do” (Anti-/Epitaph)

• New & Noteworthy: The Alarm, “Equals” (Twenty First Century); Bullet For My Valentine, “Gravity” (Spinefarm); Ray Davies, “Our Country: Americana Act 2” (Sony Legacy); Drake, “Scorpion” (Young Money/Cash Money/Republic); Florence + The Machine, “High As Hope” (Republic); Gorillaz, “The Now Now” (Warner Bros./Parlophone); Stanley Clarke Band, “The Message” (Mack Avenue); Tinashe, “Joyride” (RCA);

• Also Out: Chicago, “Chicago II -- Live On Soundstage” (Rhino); Tyler Childres, “Live On Red Barn Radio I & II” (Hickman Holler); Dead Cross, “Dead Cross” EP (IPECAC); Essex Green, “Hardly Electronic” (Merge); Hillsong Young & Free, “III” (Hillsong); I See Hawks in L.A., “Live And Never Learn” (Western Seeds); Indigo Girls, “Live With The University Of Colorado Symphony Orchestra” (Rounder); Innocence Mission, “Sun On The Square” (Badman); The Interrupters, “Fight The Good Fight” (Hellcat/Epitaph); Let’s Eat Grandma, “I’m All Ears” (Pias America); Frank Newsome, “Gone Away With A Friend” (Free Dirt); Night Flight Orchestra, “Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough” (Nuclear Blast); Carl Palmer’s ELP Legacy, “Live” (BMG);Protoje, “A Matter Of Time” (Easy Star); Sasha, “Fabric 99” (Fabric); Tommy Shaw and the Contemporary Youth Orchestra, “Sing For The Day!” (Eagle Rock); Louie Vega, “NYC Disco” (Nervous);

Wild Feathers, “Greetings From The Neon Frontier” (Warner Bros.)

• From The Vaults: David Bowie, “Welcome To The Blackout: London ‘78” (Rhino/Parlophone); Buffalo Springfield, “What’s That Sound? Complete Albums Collection” (Atlantic Catalog Group); John Coltrane, “Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album” (Verve); Coroner, “Mental Vortex,” “Grin” (Noise); Fates Warning, “Live Over Europe” (Inside Out); Flaming Lips, “Seeing the Unseeable: The Complete Studio Recordings of The Flaming Lips 1986-1990” (Rhino/Rykodisc); Marillion, “Smoke” “Mirrors” (Earmusic); Graham Nash, “Over The Years...” (Atlantic Catalog Group); Posies, “Dear 23” (Omnivore); The Supremes, “...Sing Holland-Dozier-Holland (Expanded Edition)” (Motown/UMe); Yes, “Yes: The Steven Wilson Remixes” (Atlantic Catalog Group)

• Soundtracks: Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow, “Annihilation” (Lakeshore); Various Artists, “Incredibles 2” (Walt Disney);

• New Music Videos: “Scream For Me Sarajevo” (Eagle Rock); Tommy Shaw and the Contemporary Youth Orchestra, “Sing For The Day!” (Eagle Rock)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration