HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
New Music: Royce 5'9", Ozzy Osbourne, Chainsmokers, Grimes and more...

By Gary Graff
ggraff@medianewsgroup.com, @GraffonMusic on Twitte

Posted: Friday, February 21, 2020

» See more SOUND CHECK

Checking out this week's new music releases...

Album of the Week: Hot off three feature appearances on Eminem's latest album, "Music To Be Murdered By," Detroit rapper Royce 5'9" brings out his own set, "The Allegory" (eOne/Heaven Studios Inc.), a 22-track set featuring guests such as Vince Staples, Cedric the Entertainer, Kid Vishis, Benny the Butcher, PRhyme partner DJ Premier and more.

Album Title of the Week: The Amity Affliction, "Everyone Loves You...Once You Leave Them" (Pure Noise);

Did'ya Know?: Gang of Four's new EP "This Heaven Gives Me Migraine" (Gill Music Ltd.) features three new songs along with two spoken interludes by frontman Andy Gill, who died on Feb. 1.

New & Noteworthy: BTS, "Map of the Soul" (Big Hit); The Chainsmokers, "World War Joy" (Disruptor/Columbia); Greg Dulli, "Random Desire" (Royal Cream/BMG); Grimes, "Miss Anthropocene" (4AD); Guided By Voices, "Surrender Your Poppy Field" (GVB); Pat Metheny, "From This Place" (Nonesuch); Ozzy Osbourne, "Ordinary Man" (Epic); The Third Mind, "The Third Mind" (Yep Roc)

Also Out: Casey Abrams, "Uncovered" (Chesky); Allie X, "Cape God" (Twin Music); Russ Ballard, "It's Good to Be Here" (BMG); Banoffee, "Look At Us Now Dad" (Cascine); Clifffs, "Panic Attack" (State Fair); Best Coast, "Always Tomorrow" (Concord);COIN, "Dreamland" (The Committee for Sound & Mind); Albert Cummings, "Believe" (Mascot); Deep Energy Orchestra, "The Return" (7D Media); Demons & Wizards, "III" (Century Media); Wyatt Edmonson, "If I Don't Try" (self-released); Eloquent, "Forever is a Pretty Long Time" (Mello Music Group); Framing Hanley, "Envy" (Thermal Entertainment); Kevin Garrett, "Made Up Lost Time" (KG Music); Sarah Harmer, "Are You Gone" (Arts & Crafts); Her Silo, "Don't Forget the Heart That's Beating" (self-released); Introvert, "Mending Breaking" (self-released); Pi Jacobs, "Two Truths and a Lie" (Travianna); Sunny Jain, "Wild Wild East" (Smithsonian Folkways); Jason Lee McKinney Band, "Pieces" (Bonfire); King Kruel, "Cellular" (Truth Panther Sounds/Matador); Sonny Landreth, "Blacktop Run" (Provogue/Mascot); Jason Lee McKinney Band, "Pieces" (self-released); Sarah Morris, "All Mine" (self-released); Agnes Obel, "Myopia" (Blue Note); Karen Peck & New River, "Lift His Name" (Daywind); Grant Peeples, "Bad Wife" (self-released); Polaris, "The Death of Me" (SharpTone); Katie Pruitt, "Expectations" (Rounder); Lee Ranaldo and Raul Refree, "Names of North End Women" (Mute); Whitney Shay, "Stand UP!" (Ruf); George Shingleton, "Fire or Flame" (Rock Ridge Music); Sweet Lizzy Project, "Technicolor" (Mono Mundo); Wilsen, "Ruiner" (Secret City/Dalliance); Yacht Rock Revue, "Hot Dads in Tight Jeans" (PleaseRock); Youngboy Never Broke Again, "Still Flexin. Still Steppin." (self-released)

From The Vaults: Eric Burdon and the Animals, "When I Was Young: The MGM Recordings 1967-68" (Esoteric/Cherry Red); Neneh Cherry, "Raw Like Sushi (20th Anniversary Edition)" (Virgin/UMe); Miles Davis, "Music From and Inspired by Miles Davis: Birth of the Cool. A Film by Stanley Nelson" (Columbia/Legacy); Dio, "The Studio Album Collection: 1996-2004" (Rhino); Erasure, "Chorus (Deluxe Edition)" (Mute); The Five Americans, "Progressions" (Sundazed); Peter Green, "The End of the Game: 50th Anniversary Expanded Edition" (Esoteric/Cherry Red); Joe Hisaishi, "Dream Songs: The Essential Joe Hisaishi" (Decca Gold); Kelis, "Kaleidoscope (Expanded Edition" (Capitol/UMe); B.B. King, "Nothing But Hits: Classic Singles on the US Charts 1951-1961" (Jasmine); Nicole C. Mullen, "Redeemer: The Best of Nicole C. Mullen" (Word); Porcupine Tree, "In Absentia (Deluxe Edition)" (Kscope); Mister Rogers, "Bedtime," "You Are Special," "You're Growing" and "Coming and Going" (Omnivore); Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels, "Sockin' It to You: The Complete Dynovoice/New Voice Recordings" (RPM/Cherry Red); Sixpence None the Richer, "Divine Discontent" (Reprise); The Staple Singers, "Come Go With Me: The Stax Collection" (Craft/Concord); Various Artists, "Buddha 360" (Buddha/Legacy); Various Artists, "C90" (Cherry Red); Hank Williams, "Pictures From Life's Other Side: The Man and His Music in Rare Photos and Recordings" (BMG)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration