HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
New Music: Eddie Money, Incubus, Soul Asylum, Fiona Apple and more...

By Gary Graff
ggraff@medianewsgroup.com, @GraffonMusic on Twitte

Posted: Friday, April 17, 2020

» See more SOUND CHECK

Checking out this week's new music releases ...

Album of the Week: The late Eddie Money gives fans a few final musical tickets to paradise with his last album, "Brand New Day" (self-released), an 11-song digital title that's also his first set of original material since 1999.

Album Title of the Week: Enter Shikari, "Nothing is True & Everything is Possible" (So/Silva Screen)

Did Ya Know?: EOB's "Earth" (Capitol) is a new project from Radiohead guitarist Ed O'Brien, featuring bandmate Colin Greenwood as well as pals from Wilco and Portishead.

New & Noteworthy: David Foster, "Eleven Words" (Decca); Glass Animals, "Quarantine Covers Part 1" (Republic); Louise Goffin, "Two Different Movies" (Majority of One); Incubus, "Trust Side (Side B)" (ADA); Shelby Lynne, "Shelby Lynne" (Everso/Thirty Tigers); Ron Sexsmith, "Hermitage" (Cooking Vinyl); Kierra Sheard, "Kierra" (RCA Inspiration); Soul Asylum, "Hurry UP and Wait" (Blue Elan)

Also Out: Stefan Alexander, "Cry Again" (self-released); Bobs of Hades, "Phantom Bell" (Black Lodge); Gerry Cinammon, "The Boony" (Little Runaway); Datura4, "West Coast Highway Cosmic" (Alive Naturalsound); David Bromberg Band, "Big Road" (Red House); dvsn, "A Muse in Her Feelings" (OVO/Warner); Frazey Ford, "U kin B the Sun" (Arts & Crafts); Grace Gravity, "Dream Analog" (soul secret service); John "Papa" Gros, "Central City" (self-released); Mick Harvey, "Waves of Anzac/The Journey" (Mute); Ali Holder, "Uncomfortable Truths" (self-released); JC Hopkins Biggish Band, "New York Moment" (self-released); Leslie Mendelson, "If You Can't Say Anything Nice" (Royal Potato Family); Tyler Morris, "Living in the Shadows" (VizzTone); Billy Ocean, "One World" (Sony); Joel Plaskett, "44" (Pheromone Recordings); The Proven Ones, "You Ain't Done" (Gulf Coast); Ronboy, "Velvet" (self-released); Rina Sawayama, "SAWAYAMA" (Dirty Hit); Crystal Shawanda, "Church House Blues" (True North); The Vapors, "Together" (Manmade/The Vapers Own); Whitacre, "Seasons" (self-released); Jeremy Zucker, "love is not dying" (Republic)

From The Vaults: The Animated Egg, "The Animated Egg" (Music on CD); Bangles, "Gold" (Crimson/Demon); Bobby Bare, "Great American Saturday Night" (RCA/Legacy); Deee-Lite, "Groove is in the Heart" (Warner/XF); Future, "Purple Reign" (Epic); Erroll Garner, "Gemini" (Mack Avenue); Herbert von Karajan, "The Complete Decca Recordings" (Decca/UMe); Larry Rose Band, "The Jupiter Effect" (BBE Music); Peggy Lee, "Ultimate Peggy Lee" (Capitol/UMe); Frank Zappa, "Carnegie Hall" (Zappa);

Soundtracks: "Sing Street" (Original Broadway Cast Recording)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration