HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
New Music: Luke Bryan, Deep Purple, BTS, Stooges and more...

By Gary Graff
ggraff@medianewsgroup.com, @GraffonMusic on Twitte

Posted: Sunday, August 9, 2020

» See more SOUND CHECK

Checking out this week's new music releases...

Album of the Week: Country star Luke Bryan's "Born Here Live Here Die Here" (Row Crop/Capitol Nashville) postponed from a planned April 24 release is his eighth studio set and first in nearly three years. Bryan co-wrote three of the 10 tracks, including the single "What She Wants Tonight."

Album Title of the Week: Year of the Knife, "Internal Incarceration" (Pure Noise)

Did Ya Know?: Country rocker Cory Marks is joined by Lzzy Hale, Motley Crue's Mick Mars, Five Finger Death Punch frontman Ivan Moody and Travis Tritt on his new album, "Who I Am" (Better Noise Music).

New & Noteworthy: BTS, "Map of the Soul 7 The Journey (Deluxe Edition)" (Republic); Mary Chapin Carpenter, "The Dirt and the Stars" (Lambent Light/Thirty Tigers); Eddie Daniels, Bob James and Dave Grusin, "Night Kisses: A Tribute to Ivan Lins" (Resonance); Deep Purple, "Whoosh!" (earMUSIC); Glass Animals, "Dreamland" (Republic); Cassadee Pope, "Rise and Shine" (Awake Music); The Stooges, "Live at Goose Lake: August 8th 1970" (Third Man); Tegan and Sara, "Hey, We're Just Like You: The Remixes" (Sire)

Also Out: Ryan Allen, "Tomorrow" (self-released); Another Sky, "I Slept on the Floor" (Missing Piece/Fiction); Arctic Rain, "This One" (Frontiers); Avatar, "Hunter Gatherer" (eOne); Black Rose Maze, "Black Rose Maze" (Frontiers); Blue Oyster Cult, "45th Anniversary Live in London" (Frontiers); Drugs, "Episodic" (Park The Van); Faouzia, "Stripped" (Atlantic); Fortune, "The Gun's Still Smokin' Live" (Frontiers); Janet Gardner and Justin James, "Synergy" (Pavement); Iration, "Coastin'" (Three Prong); Kristen Grainge & True North, "Ghost Tattoo" (self-released); Lionville, "Magic Is Alive" (Frontiers); The Microphones, "The Microphones in 2020" (P.W. Elverum & Sun); Jason Molina, "Eight Gates" (Secretly Canadian); The Moonless Nights, "The Moonless Nights" (Moon Recording Co.); Cary Morin, "Dockside Saints" (self-released); Alison Mosshart, "Sound Wheel" (Third Man); Not A Toy, "Not A Toy" (Fearless); Ramos, "My Many Sides" (Frontiers); Kenny Roby, "The Reservoir" (Royal Potato Family); Hugo Samba, "Wah" (self-released); James Scott, "How Still the River" (Catherine); Stand Atlantic, "Pink Elephant" (Hopeless); Various Artists, "NOW That's What I Call Music! 75" (NOW); JD Taylor, "The Coldwater Sessions" (VizzTone); Cate Tomlinson, "Missing" (self-released); Eleanor Underhill, "Land of the Living" (self-released); Washed Out, "Purple Noon" (Sub Pop); Yellow Days, "A Day in a Yellow Beat" (Columbia)

From The Vaults: Joe Bonamassa, "A New Day (20th Anniversary Edition)" (J&R Adventures); Collective Soul, "Hints, Allegations and Things Left Unsaid," "Collective Soul (25th Anniversary Edition)" (Craft/Concord); Flamin' Groovies, "Jumpin' in the Night" (Liberation Hall); Jerry Garcia, "My Sisters and Brothers" (Jerry Garcia Foundation); Various Artists, NOW That's What I Call a Decade! 2010's" (NOW)

New Home Video (out Aug. 11): "The British Invasion" (Mill Creek Entertainment); Elvis Presley, "Elvis: That's The Way It Is" (Warner Archives); "The High Note" (Universal Pictures Home Entertainment)

New Singles and Videos: Artemis, "If It's Magic"; Cardi B and Megan Thee Stallion, "WAP"; Beabadoobee, "Sorry"; Black Stone Cherry, "Again"; blink-182, "Quarantine"; Bon Iver with Bruce Springsteen and Jenny Lewis, "AUATC"; Bully, "Hours and Hours"; Eric Church, "Bad Mother Trucker"; Coco, "Last of the Loving"; Joe Denizon & Stratospheerius, "Imposter"; Drake and Popcaan, "All I Need" and "Twist & Turn"; Every Other Year, "Ghosts"; FKA TWigs and 645AR, "Sum Bout U"; Joji x Diplo, "Daylight"; Machine Gun Kelly with Travis Barker, "Concert For Aliens"; Bugzy Malone, "M.E.N. III"; Ava Max, "Kings & Queens Pt. 2" featuring Lauv and Saweetie; Declan McKenna, "Be An Astronaut"; Midnight Oil, "Gadigal Land"; Rico Nasty, "IPHONE"; The Nomadic, "Manhattan View"; Billy Ocean, "We Gotta Find Love"; Pale Blue Dot, "Waiting For Signs"; Tom Petty, "There Goes Angela (Dream Away)"; The Pineapple Thief, "Versions of the Truth"; Prince, "Cosmic Day"; Protoje featuring PopCaan, "Like Royalty"; Queen + Adam Lambert, "You Are the Champions"; Billy Raffoul, "What Makes a Man"; Rexx Life Raj and G-Eazy, "Bounce Back"; Roberto, "Dorrigo"; Darius Rucker, "Beer and Sunshine"; SAD13, "Oops...!"; Shining Black featuring Boals & Thorsen, "Just Another Day" and "My Life;" Troye Sivan, "Rager Teenager"; The Sword, "Working Man"; The Weeknd and Juice WRLD, "Smile"; The Wheelblocks, "Aces High"; Yungblud, "Strawberry Lipstick"

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration