HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
New Music: Gloria Estefan, Bruce Hornsby, Kane Brown, Halestorm and more...

By Gary Graff
ggraff@medianewsgroup.com, @GraffonMusic on Twitte

Posted: Friday, August 14, 2020

» See more SOUND CHECK

Checking out this week's new music releases (all subject to change).

Album of the Week: Gloria Estefan's first new album in seven years, "Brazil305" (Sony Music Latin), lives up to its title with four originals and Brazilianized new arrangements of favorites such as "Rhythm is Gonna Get You" and "Get on Your Feet."

Album Title of the Week: Fantastic Negrito, "Have you Lost Your Mind Yet?" (Blackball Universe/Cooking Vinyl).

Did Ya Know?: The trio North Kingsley's EP "Vol. 1" (22 Red Media) is the debut of a new side project by System of a Down bassist Shavo Odadjian, with plans for more new music in the near future.

New & Noteworthy: Biffy Clyro, "A Celebration of Endings" (14th Floor/Warner); David Bowie, "Something in the Air (Live Paris 99)" (Parlophone/Rhino); Kane Brown, "Mixtape Vol. 1" (RCA Nashville); BT, "The Lost Art of Longing" (Black Hole); Kathleen Edwards, "Total Freedom" (Dualtone); Bill Frisell, "Valentine" (Blue Note); Halestorm, "Reimagined" (Atlantic)l; Bruce Hornsby, "Non-Secure Connection" (Zappo/Thirty Tigers); Robby Krieger, "The Ritual Begins at Sundown" (The Players Club); Rumer, "Hugh Prestwood" (Cooking Vinyl)

Also Out: Almost Over, "The Sum of Contradictions" (Hot Lava); Jacob Collier, "Diesse Vol. 3" (Hajanga/Decca); A.G. Cook, "7G" (PC Music); Evelyn Cools, "Misfit Paradise" (self-released); Death Cave, "Smoking Mountain" (Satanik Royalty); Tanya Donelly and the Parkington Sisters, "Tanya Donelly and the Parkington Sisters" (American Laundromat); Lindsay Ell, "heart theory" (Stoney Creek); "No Time For Enemies" (AntiFragile);(hed) P.E., "Death Awaits"; Paul Kelly and Paul Grabowsky, "Please Leave Your Light On" (Gawd Aggie/Cooking Vinyl); Caylee Hammack, "If It Wasn't For You" (Capitol Nashville); Holly Humberstone, "Falling Asleep at the Wheel" (Platoon); The Japanese House, "Chewing Cotton Wool" (Dirty Hit); Johnny Hates Jazz, "Wide Awake" (jHj Music); Kamelot, "I Am the Empire Live From the 013" (Napalm); Kiesza, "Crave" (Zebra Spirit Tribe); Kinky, "Se Acabo" (self-released); Gordon Koang, "Unity" (Music in Exile/Light in the Attic); Levellers, "Peace" (On the Fiddle); Michael McArthur, "How to Fall in Love" (Dark River); Arlo McKinley, "Die Midwestern" (Oh Boy); Mick Thomas' Roving Commission, "I Heard Sally Singing"; Orville Pack, "Show Pony" (Columbia); Nick Perri & the Underground Thieves, "Sun Via" (self-released); Mo Pitney, "Ain't Lookin' Back" (Curb); Primitive Man, "Immersion" (Relapse); RaeLynn, "Baytown" (Round Here/AWAL); Matt Rollings, "Matt Rollings Mosaic" (DualTone); Aubrie Sellers, "World On Fire" (self-released); Sylvie Simmons, "Blue On Blue" (Compass); Jeff Slate, "Lockdown Live" (BadgeTunes); Son Lux, "Tomorrows" (City Slang); Twisted Pine, "Right Now" (Signature Sounds); Various Artists, "Endless Summer with Better Noise Music" (Better Noise); Whitney, "Candid" (Secretly Canadian)

From The Vaults: Creedence Clearwater Revival, "Cosmo's Factory" (Craft/Concord); Flo & Eddie, "Illegal, Immoral and Fattening/Moving Targets" (BGO); Gene, "Gene: The Albums" (Edsel/Demon); Kool & the Gang, "Ladies Night/Celebrate!/Something Special/As One/In the Heart/Emergency" (BGO); Wet Willie, "Wet Willie Wet Willie II" (BGO); The Zawinul Syndicate, "Black Water/Lost Tribes" (BGO)

New Singles and Videos: Arctic Rain, "Friends"; Armored Saint, "End of the Attentiion Span"; Gabby Barrett, "The Good Ones"; Andy Bell, Love Comes in Waves"; Benee, "Snail"; Betcha, "Closer to the Sun"; Black Magnet, "Hegemon"; Afel Bocoum, "Penda Djiga"; Brooklyn, "Thirsty"; Rich Bryan, "Midsummer Madness" featuring Danny Ocean; Bully, "Prism"; Burna Boy and Stormzy, "Real LIfe"; Caamp, "Fal, Fall, Fall"; Clairo, "Nobody Does It Better"; Cold Years, "Life With a View"; Elvis Costello, "We Are All Cowards Now"; The Cribs, "Running INto You"; Miley Cyrus, "Midnight Sky;" Catherine Anne Davies and Bernard Butler, "Sabotage (Looks So Easy)"; Deryk, "One Star"; Hayden Desser, "Make Believe"; Digital Leather, "The King of Idiots"; Drake, "Laugh Now Cry" featuring Lil Durk; Patrick Droney, "Glitter"; Jules Drucker, "What's to Say About Things Today"; Elderbrook, "Why Do We Shake in the Cold"; Evanescence, "Use My Voice" featuring Lzzy Hale, Taylor Momsen, Lindsey Stirling and Sharon den Adel; First Aid Kid, "On the Road Again"; Sam Fischer, "Everybody's Got Somebody" and "I"ve Got to Live Now"; Dylan Fraser, "Vipers"; The Front Bottoms, "Fairbanks, Alaska"; Gargoyl, "Wraith"; Alice Glass, "Nightmares"; HAAi, "Rotating in Unison"; High Contrast and Kae Tempest, "Time Is Hardcore"; Holy Motors, "Endless Night"; Jerry Joseph, "Dead Confederate"; Josh Johnson, "856"; Jonsi, "Cannibal" featuring Elizabeth Fraser; Julian Frampton Band, "Quicksand"; Alicia Keys, "So Done" featuring Khalid; The Killers, "Dying Breed"; KOJ, "Human Love"; Tommy Lee, "Demon Bitches" featuring Brooke Candy and Moon Bounce; Dua Lipa, "Levitating (remix)" featuring Madonna and Missy Elliott; Linkin Park, "She Couldn't"; Simon Lunche, "Kiss Me"; Lupin, "May"; Ziggy Marley, "Jambo" featuring Angelique Kidjo; Maverick Sabre, "Signs"; Dent May, "Easier Said Than Done"; Vic Mensa, "No More Teardrops"; Tom Morello, "You Belong To Me"; Mork Grynining, "Faltherren"; Bob Moses, "The Blame"; Necklace, "Main Street"; numum, "first steps"; Old 97's, "Bottle Rocket Baby"; Peaches, "Flip This"; Orville Peck, "Legends Never Die" featuring Shania Twain; Pentatonix, "Happy Now"; Run River North, "Cemetery"; Anjimile Shares, "Baby No More"; Silver Sphere, "handle me"; Ski Team, "Knicks Suck"; Slow Pulp, "Falling Apart"; Starrah, "How It Goes"; Tempers, "The Use of My Belonging"; Tikyra, "No More Fear"; Anna von Hausswolff, "All Thoughts Fly"; Clay Walker, "Need a Bar Sometimes"; Summer Walker, "White Tee"; Weezer, "Beginning of the End (Wyld Stallyns Radio Edit)"; Winnetka Bowling League, "Come to the Beach"; Elijah Wolf, "Like This, Anymore," featuring Nels Cline; Chase Wright, "My Kinda Morning";

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration