HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
New Music: Carrie Underwood, Evanescence, Suzi Quatro, Polo Frost, more....

By Gary Graff
ggraff@medianewsgroup.com, @GraffonMusic on Twitte

Posted: Friday, March 26, 2021

» See more SOUND CHECK

Checking out this week's new music releases (all subject to change)...

Album of the Week: After celebrating Christmas with "My Gift," Carrie Underwood keeps the faith with "My Savior" (Capitol Nashville), the "American Idol" champion's first-ever set of gospel standards. In addition to staples such as "How Great Thou Art," "The Old Rugged Cross" and "Amazing Grace," the album includes a duet with gospel great CeCe Winans on "Great Is They Faithfulness."

Album Title of the Week: Natalie D-Napoleon, "You Wanted to Be the Shore but Instead You Were the Sea" (self-released);

Did Ya Know?: Neil Young's latest archival release, "Young Shakespeare" (Warner) -- comes from a 1971 solo concert in Stratford, Conn. -- contains the earliest known footage of Young in concert as well as pre-release performances of songs from his then- upcoming "Harvest" album.

New & Noteworthy:

Badfinger, "No Matter What -- Revisiting the Hits" (Cleopatra);

Evanescence, "The Bitter Truth" (BMG);

Fitz, "Head Up High" (Elektra);

Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders and the London Symphony Orchestra, "Promises" (Luaka Bop);

Polo Frost, "Vaccine" (self-released);

Suzi Quatro, "The Devil In Me" (SPV/Steamhammer);

Scarypoolparty, "Los Angeles" (Hollywood);

Adrian Smith and Richie Kotzen, "Smith/Kotzen" (BMG);

Tune-Yards, "Sketchy" (4AD);

Sara Watkins, "Under the Pepper Tree" (New West)

Also Out:

Adult Books, "Grecian Urn" (Taxi Gauche);

AJR, "OK Orchestra" (S-Curve);

Ziggy Alberts, "In His Own Words" (Commonfolk);

Alex Leach Band, "I'm the Happiest When I'm Moving" (Crossroads);

The Antlers, "Green To Gold" (Transgressive/Anti-Epitaph);

The Armadillo Paradox, "Out of Gas in Oil Country" (self-released);

As Everything Unfolds, "Within Each Lies the Other" (Long Branch);

Aziola Cry, "The Iconic Divide" (Sensory);

Beams, "Ego Death" (Be My Sibling);

Benny the Butcher, "The Plugs I Met 2" (Griselda/Empire);

Black Spiders, "Black Spiders" (Dark Riders);

Budderside, "Spiritual Violence" (Motorhead Music/Silver Lining);

Caleborate, "Light Hit My Skin" (TBKTR/AWAL);

Cavetown, "Sleepyhead (Extras)" (Sire);

Citizen, "Life in Your Glass World" (Run For Cover);

Clark, "Playground in a Lake" (Deutsche Grammophon);

Cosmograf, "Rattrapante" (Gravity Dream Music);

Death From Above 1979, "Is 4 Lovers" (Spinefarm);

Brigitte DeMeyer, "Seeker" (Proper/BDM);

DDG X OG Parker, "Die 4 Respect" (Epic);

Kris Delmhorst, "Light Breaks Through" (Bandcamp);

District 97, "Screenplay" (Cherry Red);

Dog Trainer, "Scrolling to feel better...part one" (self-released);

Mike Doughty, "Ghosts of Vroom" (Mod y Vi);

El Michels Affair, "Yeti Season" (Big Crown);

First Aid Kit, "Who By Fire: Live Tribute to Leonard Cohen" (Columbia);

Nick Fletcher, "Cycles of Behaviour" (self-released);

Damon Fowler, "Alafia Moon" (Landslide);

Freestylers, "Other Worlds" (Mama's Pie);

Fretland, "Could Have Loved You" (Soundly Music);

AJ Fullerton, "The Forgiver and the Runaway" (VizzTone);

Gallant, "Neptune" (self-released);

Ali Gatie, "The Idea of Her" (Warner);

Genghis Tron, "Dream Weapon" (Relapse);

Greenleaf, "Echoes From a Mass" (Napalm);

Luke Haines, "Luke Haines In...Setting the Dogs on the Post Punk Postman" (Cherry Red);

Ben Howard, "Collections From the Whiteout" (Island);

The Imaginaries, "The Imaginaries" (ONErpm);

Imminence, "Live in S:t Nicolai (Sweden)" (Arising Empire);

IU, "Lilac" (self-released);

The Juliana Theory, "A Dream Away" (Equal Vision);

Kanga, "You and I will Never Die" (Artoffact);

L'Imperatrice, "Tako Tsubo" (Gold Atlas);

Daniel Lanois, "Heavy Sun" (eOne);

SG Lewis, "times" (Casablanca/Republic);

Liquid Tension Experiment, "LTE3" (InsideOutMusic);

Tate McRae, "too young to be sad" (RCA);

Adam Melchor, "Melchor Lullaby Hotline, Vol. 1 (R&R/Warner);

Memoriam, "To The End" (Reaper Entertainment);

Jason Charles Miller, "From the Wreckage -- Part One"

MyKey, "Welcome to the Witching Hour" (Warner);

Emma Negrete, "Algorithms" (Business);

New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers, "Vol. 2" (Stony Plain);

Nogo Erez, "Kids" (City Slang);

David Olney and Anana Kaye, "Whisper and Sighs" (Schoolkids);

Sylvan Paul, "America" (Wolf + Lamb);

George Porter Jr. & the Runnin' Pardners, "Crying For Hope" (Controlled Substance Sound Labs/Color Red);

Joey Porter, "Waterways" (Rare Rock);

Real Estate, "Half a Human" (Domino);

Esther Rose, "How Many Times" (Father/Daughter);

serpentwithfeet, "DEACON" (Secretly Canadian);

Chevel Shepherd, "Everybody's Got a Story" (Country Sweetheart);

'68, "Give One Take One" (Cooking Vinyl);

Dr. Lonnie Smith, "Breathe" (Blue Note);

Sam Smith, "Love Goes: Live at Abbey Road Studios" (Capitol);

John Smith, "The Fray" (Commoner/Thirty Tigers);

Stepson, "Help Me, Help You" (SharpTone);

Julia Stone, "Sixty Summers" (BMG);

String Noise, "Alien Stories" (Infrequent Seams);

Sunny War, "Simple Syrup" (Hen House Studios);

Sweet, "Isolation Boulevard" (Prudential);

Jack Symes, "Tompkins Park"

Tomahawk, "Tonic Immobility" (Ipecac);

Tower of Power, "50 Years of Funk & Soul: Live at the Fox Theater, Oakland, CA, June 2018" (Artistry/Mack Avenue);

Various Artists, "New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers Vol. 2" (Stony Plain);

Sunny War, "Simple Syrup" (self-released);

Rod Wave, "SoulFly" (Alamo/Geffen);

Rita Wilson, "Trilogy 1" (self-released/The Orchard);

Donovan Woods, "Without People Deluxe" (Meant Well);

Xiu Xiu, "Oh No" (Polyvinyl);

Young Dolph and Key Block, "Dum & Dummer II" (Empire)

From The Vaults:

Allman Brothers Band, "Down in Texas '71" (Allman Brothers Band Recording Co.);

Jon Anderson, "Olias of Sunhillow: Remastered and Expanded Edition" (Esoteric);

Justin Bieber, "Justice: Triple Chucks Deluxe Edition" (Def Jam);

Flesh & Blood, "Blues For Daze" (DEKO Entertainment);

For King & Country, "Burn the Ships (Deluxe Edition: Remixes & Collaborations)" (Curb/Word);

Global Village Trucking Company, "Smiling Revolution" (Esoteric/Cherry Red);

Harpers Bizarre, "Come to the Sunshine: The Complete Warner Brothers Recordings" (El/Cherry Red);

The Jacksons, "The Jackson Live!" (Epic/Legacy);

Bren Joy, "Twenties (Deluxe Edition)" (Warner);

Lamb Of God, "Lamb of God: Deluxe Edition" (Epic);

Level 42, "The Complete Polydor Years Volume 1 1980-1984" (Robinsongs/Cherry Red);

L7, "Wargasm: The Slash Years 1992-1997" (HNE/Cherry Red);

Teena Marie, "John Morales Presents Teena Marie" (BBE);

Residents, Freak Show (3CD reissue)

Shura, "Forevher (Deluxe Edition)" (Secretly Canadian);

Nancy Sinatra, "Start Walkin" 1965-1976" (Boots Enterprises/Light in the Attic);

Joe Strummer, "Assembly" (Dark Horse);

Tame Impala, "InnerSpeaker: 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition" (Modular Recordings/Interscope);

3 Doors Down, "The Better Life (20th Anniversary Edition)" (Republic/UMe);

Various Artists, "Directions in Music 1969 to 1973" (Ace);

Various Artists, "Everybody Makes a Mistake: Stax Southern Soul Volume 2" (Kent/Ace);

Various Artists, "Jon Savage's 1972-1976: All Our Times Have Come" (Ace);

Donovan Woods, "Without People Deluxe" (Meant Well);

Neil Young, "Young Shakespeare" (Reprise);


"Scott Pilgrim vs. The World" (ABKCO)

New Music Video:

Lamb of God, "Live in Richmond, VA" (Epic)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration