HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

CD Reviews:
New Music: Eric Church, Greta Van Fleet, Paul McCartney, Norah Jones, more...

By Gary Graff
ggraff@medianewsgroup.com, @GraffonMusic on Twitte

Posted: Friday, April 16, 2021

» See more SOUND CHECK

Checking out this week's new music releases (all subject to change)...

Album of the Week: Country star Eric Church brings out his latest work in ambitious fashion -- two albums, "Heart" (out Friday, April 16) and "Soul" (April 23), with the "&" EP from his Church Choir on April 20 (all EMI Nashville). Together it comprises "Heart & Soul" (get it?), 24 tracks recorded over 28 days in the North Carolina mountains. Not exactly the work of a "Desperate Man," is it?

Album Title of the Week: West of Texas, "Heartache, Hangovers & Honky Tonks" (self-released)

Did Ya Know?: New York's Cole Quest and the City Pickers is fronted by the grandson of Woody Guthrie (song of his daughter Nora). The debut EP "Self (En)Titled" (Omnivore) includes a version of "Way Over Yonder in the Minor Key," one of the posthumous collaborations between grandpa and Billy Bragg.

New & Noteworthy

Greta Van Fleet, "The Battle at Garden's Gate" (Lava/Republic)

Norah Jones, "'Til We Meet Again" (Blue Note)

Brian Kelley, "BK's Wave Pack" (Warner Music Nashville)

The Offspring, "Let the Bad Times Roll" (Concord)

Paul McCartney, "McCartney III Imagined" (Capitol)

John Pizzarelli , "Better Days Ahead" (Ghostlight)

Freda Payne, "Let There Be Love" (The Sound of LA)

Polyphonic Spree, "Afflatus" (Good Records Recordings)

Portugal. The Man, "Oregon City Sessions" (Approaching AIRballoons/Secretly)

Mary Wilson, "Mary Wilson (Expanded Edition)" (Motown/UMe)

Also Out:

Acebergtm, "Far From Home" (KSoar)

Amigo The Devil, "Born Against" (Liars Club)

The Armed, "Ultrapop" (Sargent House)

August Burns Red, "Guardian Sessions" (Fearless)

Autogramm, "No Rules" (Nevado)

Avishai Cohen Trio and the Gothenberg Symphony Orchestra, "Two Roses" (Naive/Believe)

Jesse Aycock, "Jesse Aycock" (Horton)

Black Peaks, "Live at the Brighton Centre" (Rise)

Tracy Bonham & Melodeon Music House, "Young Maestros Vol. 1" (Melodeon Music House)

The Brother Brothers, "Calla Lily" (Compass)

David Cook, "The Looking Glass" (self-released)

Cannibal Corpse, "Violence Unimagined" (Metal Blade)

Enter Shikari, "Moratorium (Broadcasts From the Interruption)" (SO)

Stephen Flatt, "Cumberland Bones" (Flatt Family Music)

Marty Friedman, "Tokyo Jukebox III" (Players Club/Mascot)

Hayley Griffiths Band, "Live at T'Blok" (self-released)

Holding Absence, "The Greatest Mistake of My Life" (Sharptone)

Engelbert Humperdinck, "Sentiments" (OK! Good)

Escape the Fate, "Chemical Warfare" (Better Noise)

Fitz, "Head Up High" (Elektra)

Jeremiah Fraites, "Piano Piano" (Dualtone)

Garage A Trois, "Calm Down Cologne" (Royal Potato Family)

Holding Absence, "The Greatest Mistake of My Life" (SharpTone)

iLoveMakonnen, "My Parade" (COR/TAN)

Jess Joy, "Patreearchy" (Joyful Noise)

Liquid Tension Experiment, "LTE3" (InsideOutMusic)

Frank London, "Ghetto Songs" (Felmay Records)

Page McConnell, "Maybe We're the Visitors" (Keyed)

Midland, "The Sonic Ranch" (Big Machine)

Miesha & the Spanks, "Singles" (Saved By Vinyl)

NEEDTOBREATHE, "Live From the Woods Vol. 2" (Atlantic)

John Pizzarelli, "Better Days Ahead" (Ghostlight)

The Pineapple Thief, "The Soord Sessions Volumes 1-4" (Kscope)

Saint Raymond, "We Forget We Are Dreaming" (Cooking Vinyl)

Zach Schmidt, "Raise A Banner" (Boss Dawg)

Julia Stone, "Sixty Summers" (BMG)

Andy Stott, "Never the Right Time" (Modern Love)

Temple Balls, "Pyromide" (Frontiers)

AJ Tracey, "Flu Game" (Revenge)

Robin Trower, Maxi Priest, Livingstone Brown, "United States of Mind" (Manhaton)

Two Feet, "Max Marco is Dead" (AWAL)

The Vintage Caravan, "Monuments" (Napalm)

Vision Video, "Inked In Red" (self-released)

Wednesday 13, "Necrophaze - Antidote" (Nuclear Blast)

Tauren Wells, "Citizen of Heaven Live" (self-released)

While She Sleeps, "Sleep Society" (Spinefarm)

Why Don't We, "The Good Times and the Bad Ones" (Atlantic)

From The Vaults:

Lloyd Cole, "Antidepressant" (earMUSIC)

Elvis Costello and the Attractions" (Elvis Costello/UMe)

Jethro Tull "A (A La Mode): 40th Anniversary Edition" (Rhino/Parlophone)

Donna Lewis, "Now in a Minute (25th Anniversary Edition)" (Real Gone)

The Living, "The Living: 1982" (Loosegroove)

Tim McGraw, “Here On Earth Ultimate Edition” (Big Machine)

Bob Mould, "Distortion: The Best of 1989-2019," "Distortion: 2008-2019" (Demon)

Michael Nesmith, "Different Drum: The Lost RCA Victor Recordings" (Real Gone)

Tom Petty, "Finding Wildflowers (Alternate Versions)" (Warner)

Porcupine Tree, "Octane Twisted" (Transmission)

Busta Rhymes, "The Coming: 25th Anniversary Edition" (Rhino)

SHINee, "Don't Call Me: Atlantis" (SM Entertainment)

Sharon Van Etten, "epic Ten" (Ba Da Bing)

Tammy Wynette, "Only Lonely Sometimes"/"Soft Touch"/"Good Love & Heartbreak"/"Even the Strong Get Lonely" (Morello)

New Music Video:

Hayley Griffiths Band, "Live" (self-released)

Tim McGraw, “Here On Earth Ultimate Video Edition” (Big Machine)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration